PPDU in brief

The Economic Community of West African States (hereinafter “ECOWAS”) is a regional economic community, comprising 15 Member States and was founded in 1975. A key aspect of its mandate is to promote economic integration in all fields of economic activity, particularly, industry, transport, telecommunications, energy and agriculture. The Commission is one of its main institutions, with a mandate to design and implement policies, launch programmes and implement development projects in ECOWAS Member States.

 

ECOWAS recognizes the importance of infrastructures as the basis of and vector for economic development and regional integration, and promoting them is listed as a priority in the Vision 2020 strategic document “Towards an ECOWAS of Peoples”, drafted in 2007. The Regional Poverty Reduction Strategy, drafted in late 2006, also refers to infrastructure development as a crucial sphere of action. Promoting infrastructures to achieve a competitive business environment and increase investment capacities is also a main goal of the ECOWAS Commission’s 2011-2015 Strategic Plan. Likewise, the successive ECOWAS Summits of Heads of State and Government have reiterated the importance of infrastructures for the region. In December of 2008, the 35th Summit of Heads of State and Government adopted an Action Plan for Developing Transport Infrastructures and Services in the ECOWAS space, revised at the end of 2012.

 

The level of infrastructure development in the region of West Africa, understood to encompass mainly transportation, energy, and telecommunications, is insufficient with regard to existing demand, especially in a context of strong demographic growth, which contributes to its particularly weak inter-regional trade, and limited economic growth. Therefore, the Heads of State and of Government of the African Union unanimously approved, in January 2012, the Programme for Infrastructure Development in Africa (PIDA). ECOWAS has been mandated to co-ordinate the implementation of the component of the PIDA in West Africa.

 

It is against this background that the ECOWAS Commission in August 2011, created the Project Preparation and Development Unit with the overall objective of enhancing capacity to develop and prepare bankable regional infrastructure project to foster economic growth in the ECOWAS region.

 

In January 2005, ECOWAS approved launching, within its Commission, a unit for the development and implementation of projects, which was initially given a mandate to develop and implement NEPAD infrastructure projects. In November 2008, the ECOWAS Council of Ministers decided to create the Infrastructure Fund to finance feasibility studies for the projects designed by the unit, and in 2010 changed the name of the unit, and established the rules of organization and functioning of the current PPDU. The PPDU, which is under the Commission for Infrastructure, was created through Regulation C/REG.5/08/11 in August 2011, and has as it main purpose the improvement of effectiveness and efficiency in the implementation of ECOWAS infrastructure projects, in order to favour economic growth and regional integration in West Africa.

Partners

Le PPDU en bref

La Communauté des Etats de l’Afrique de l’Ouest (ci-après désignée CEDEAO) est une communauté économique régionale fondée en 1975 et composée de 15 Etats membres. Une partie importante de son mandat consiste à promouvoir l’intégration économique dans tous les secteurs d’activité économique, en particulier dans l’industrie, le transport, les télécommunications, l’énergie et l’agriculture. La Commission est l’une de ses principales institutions. Elle a pour mandat de concevoir et de mettre en œuvre des politiques, lancer des programmes et exécuter des projets de développement dans les Etats membres de la CEDEAO.

 

La CEDEAO reconnaît l’importance des infrastructures en tant que base/fondement et vecteur du développement économique et d’intégration régionale. Leur promotion constitue donc une des priorités du document stratégique Vision 2020 « Vers une CEDEAO des peuples », élaboré en 2007. Par ailleurs, la Stratégie pour la Réduction de la Pauvreté, élaborée en fin 2006, considère le développement des infrastructures comme un domaine d’action important. La promotion des infrastructures en vue de créer un climat d’affaires concurrentiel et améliorer les capacités d’investissement constitue aussi un objectif important dans le Plan Stratégique 2011-2015 de la Commission de la CEDEAO. De même, les différents sommets des Chefs d’Etats et de Gouvernement de la CEDEAO ont réaffirmé l’importance des Infrastructures pour la région. En Décembre 2008, le 35e Sommet des Chefs d’Etats et de Gouvernements a adopté un Plan d’Action pour le Développement des Infrastructures de Transport et de Service dans l’espace CEDEAO, révisé à la fin de 2012.

 

Le niveau de développement des infrastructures dans la sous région de la CEDEAO, notamment le transport, l’énergie, les télécommunications, est faible par rapport à la demande existante, particulièrement dans un contexte de croissance démographique galopante, et contribue à son commerce intra régional particulièrement bas, et une faible croissance économique. Les Chefs d’Etats et de Gouvernement de l’Union Africaine ont donc approuvé, à l’unanimité, le Programme pour le Développement des Infrastructures en Afrique (PIDA) en 2012. La CEDEAO a reçu le mandat de coordonner la mise en œuvre de la composante Afrique de l’Ouest de PIDA.

 

C’est dans ce contexte qu’en Août 2011, la Commission de la CEDEAO a créé une Unité de Préparation et de Développement des Projets dont l’objectif général consiste à améliorer la capacité de développer et de préparer des projets d’infrastructures régionales bancables en vue de soutenir la croissance économique de l’espace CEDEAO.

 

En Janvier 2005, la CEDEAO a approuvé qu’une unité chargée du développement et de la mise en œuvre de projets le lancement soit lancée au sein de sa Commission. Au départ, l’unité a reçu le mandat de développer et de mettre en œuvre des projets d’infrastructure du NEPAD. En Novembre 2008, le Conseil des Ministres de la CEDEAO a décidé de créer le Fonds d’Infrastructures pour financer les études de faisabilité des projets qui sont conçus par l’unité. En 2010, il a changé le nom de l’unité, élaboré les règles d’organisation et de fonctionnement de l’actuelle PPDU. La PPDU, rattachée à la Commission chargée des Infrastructures, a été créée par Règlement C/REG.5/08/11 d’Août 2011. Son principal objectif consiste à améliorer l’effectivité et l’efficacité de la mise en œuvre des projets d’infrastructures de la CEDEAO en vue de favoriser la croissance économique et l’intégration en Afrique de l’Ouest.

 

 

Partenaires